Chalkboard Easel

I’ve got to give a big shoutout to Shanty 2 Chic for coming up with this DIY chalkboard easel. 

I had this project on my to-do list for quite some time and finally took the time to do it…..a total of about an hour! I literally built this during my daughter’s nap time.

I ended up using scrap wood I had laying around instead of buying to the exact dimensions listed on the tutorial. I used 2×2’s instead and I used Minwax “Weathered Gray” to stain the pine. I was unsure of what stain to pick out from the many to choose from, but “weathered gray” on pine is an almost identical match to a mildly weathered cedar. I created cedar planters first and wanted to match the stain to those.

If you were to get new wood for these easels, you would be around $15 for 1 easel. BUT, you can actually build 3 for around $17 because you will have left over  chalkboard if you only create one. 

I have terrible handwriting and am not artistically creative AT ALL, so forgive my kindergarten-esque “art.” 

Check out the full tutorial at Shanty 2 Chic!

Leave a Reply

